About Us

The Indianapolis Alumni Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. was chartered October 15, 1920 (originally the Gamma chapter December 29, 1913) and celebrates 96 years of achievement.

The Charter Members include: Elder Watson Diggs (Founder, First Grand Polemarch and educator); Irven Armstrong (Second Grand Polemarch and educator), Dr. Guy Levis Grant (Founder, Grand Historian Emeritus, First Polemarch of the Indianapolis Alumni Chapter and Dentist), Dr. Eza Dee Alexander (Founder, Grand Board of Directors Member and physician); Lionel F. Artis (First editor of The Journal), and Dr. Sirdastion Meriwether (Grand Board of Directors Member and Dentist)

The Indianapolis Alumni Chapter is home to several Elder Watson Diggs awardees including: William G. Mays, Jim Mosby, Arthur Carter, Myron Hardiman and two Laurel Wreath awardees: Elder Watson Diggs and Arthur Carter.

The Indianapolis Alumni Chapter has the honor of hosting the Fraternal Konclave every 25 years with the last one being the Centennial Celebration in July 2011.